Ventura Freeway Corridor

Acoustic Concert Locations

Sandbox Coffeehouse Camarillo Cafe Linda Lee's House Concerts Fireside Concerts Westlake Canyon House Concerts Thousand Oaks Library Marc Bachrach's House Concerts Russ & Julie's House Concerts West Valley Music Center Sunday at the Book Store Julie's Joint House Concerts Stardust House Concerts Noble House Concerts Kulak's Woodshed Seth & Tony's House Concerts Wine & Song Concert Series Full Moon Saturdays at Stonywood Coffee Gallery Backstage Theta Sound Pasadena Folk Music Society Sessions at the Loft Brogden Bay Presents BeanScene Espresso Tiny Porch Concerts Live at the A-Frame Naiditch House Concerts Quarter Moon Revue Cellar Sessions

The Ventura Freeway is a freeway in southern California running from the Santa Barbara/Ventura county line to Pasadena. It is the principal east-west route (designated north-south) through Ventura County and in the southern San Fernando Valley in Los Angeles County. From the Santa Barbara County line to its intersection with the Hollywood Freeway in the southeastern San Fernando Valley in Los Angeles, it is signed as U.S. Route 101. East of the Hollywood Freeway intersection, it is designated as State Route 134.   SCALE: This map shows an area 70 miles across / 14 miles top to bottom.


Please note that House Concerts are private locations. You must contact them for information and to receive an invitation.


Sandbox Coffeehouse

1. Sandbox Coffeehouse
204 E. Thompson Blvd.
Ventura, CA 93001
Phone: 805-641-1025

Live music every Saturday and Sunday at noon!

   Open Mic every Thursday at 6pm.
Bombay Bar & Grill

31. Bombay Bar & Grill
143 S. California Street
Ventura, CA 93001
Phone: 805-643-4404

Featuring Local and Touring Bands.
Two Stages and Two State of the Art Sound Systems.

The Look Out Bar and Grill

32. The Lookout Bar and Grill
Channel Islands Harbor
2800 S. Harbor Blvd., Suite B
Oxnard, CA 93035
Phone: 805-985-9300

Entertainment most Tues-Sun Evenings.

   Open Mic every Wednesday at 7pm.

Sessions at the Loft

26. Sessions at the Loft
2465 Ventura Blvd.
Camarillo, CA 93010
Phone: (805) 383-3333

Sat., December 2, 2017, 7:30pm: Johnny Britt
Fri., February 16, 2018, 7:30pm: Bryan Titus Trio
Fri., March 23, 2018, 6:30pm: The Flamenco Sessions
Camarillo Cafe

2. Camarillo Café Concert Series
at Camarillo Community Center
Sponsored by the Pleasant Valley Recreation & Park District
Hosted by Peter Krantz & Becky Glenn
1605 E. Burnley Street
Camarillo, CA 93010
Phone: 805-907-8318

Sat., January 27, 2018, 8pm: Shane Alexander
Sat., February 24, 2018, 8pm: John Zipperer / Mike Mullins
Fri., March 16, 2018, 8pm: Cache Valley Drifters
Sat., April 14, 2018, 8pm: Alice Howe / Freebo
Sat., May 5, 2018, 8pm: Phil Salazar and the Kinfolk featuring Tom Corbett
Sat., June 2, 2018: Jill Knight
Sat., August 25, 2018, 8pm: The Quitters
Sat., September 29, 2018, 8pm: Ernest Troost / The Pendleton Sisters
Sat., October 20, 2018, 8pm: Beth Wood / Rebecca Folsom
Sat., November 17, 2018, 8pm: West My Friend

Camarillo Library

31. City of Camarillo Public Library
4101 Las Posas Road
Camarillo, CA 93010
Phone: (805)-388-5222

Sun, January 7, 2018, 2pm: Sean Gaskell (West African Kora)
Sun., January 14, 2018, 2pm: Cherry Bomb (John Mellencamp Tribute)
Sun., February 11, 2018, 2pm: HorsePlay (Country Western classics)
Sun., February 25, 2018, 2pm: Aria Elan & Eden Edwards (jazz)
Sun., March 4, 2018, 2pm: Danielle Stacy (singer-songwriter)
Sun., March 11, 2018, 2pm: Robyn Carmichael (pianist)
Sun., April 15, 2018, 2pm: Friends of the Library Sunday Concert Series
Sun., April 29, 2018, 2pm: Jim LaDiana Talk and Performance (jazz)

Fireside Concerts

4. Fireside Concerts
at Borchard Community Center
Sponsored by the Conejo Recreation and Park District
and hosted by Bob Kroll
190 N. Reino Road
Newbury Park, CA 91320
Phone: 805-381-2791
Doors at 6pm. Show at 7:30pm. $10 per person

Fri., February 9, 2018: Jessie and Andra / Stephan Mendel and his Canadian friends
Fri., April 13, 2018: Dan and Laurel / Ken O'Malley and the Ne'er Dowells
Thousand Oaks Library

6. The Thousand Oaks Library
1401 E. Janss Road
Thousand Oaks, CA 91362

Sun., February 18, 2018, 2pm: Flor de Kanela (Sephardic Music Ensemble)
Sun., March 4, 2018, 2pm: Robyn Carmichael (pianist)
Tues., March 20, 2018, 12pm: Opera Santa Barbara Noontime Concerts
Sun, April 15, 2018, 2pm: Billy Kemp: Another Life (guitar)

Russ & Julie's House Concerts

8. Russ & Julie's House Concerts
Oak Park, CA 91377

Sat., January 20, 2018: Jim Kweskin (8pm)
Sat., February 10, 2018: Iain Matthews (8pm)
Sat., June 16, 2018, 8pm - Christie Lenée
Sat., July 21, 2018, 8pm - TBA
Sat., August 11, 2018, 8pm - Phil Salazar and the Kinfolk
Sat., September 22, 2018, 8pm - Sarah McQuaid
Sat., October 21, 2018, 7pm - Tracy Grammer
Sat., November 10, 2018, 8pm - TBA

West Valley Music Center

9. West Valley Music Center
24424 Vanowen Street
West Hills, CA 91307
Phone: 818-992-4142

Sat., February 24, 2018, 8pm: Sister Brothers / Mike Stein & Friends
Julie's Joint House Concerts

11. Julie's Joint House Concerts
Canoga Park, CA 91361

   Seasonal series: April through October
   5pm, includes potluck dinner buffet

Sat., April 21, 2018, 5pm: Nathan McEuen / John Zipperer
Sat., May 26, 2018, 8pm: TBA
Sat., July 14, 2018, 8pm: Berkley Hart
Sat., October 20, 2018, 8pm: The Jones Gang

   All shows include a performance by
   John Zipperer & The Current Band.

Stardust House Concerts

12. Stardust House Concerts
North Hills, CA 91343

   Seasonal series: April through October

Mon., July 3, 2017, 7pm: The Beatunes
Sun., September 10, 2017, 7pm: Kate Taylor / Jeff Alan Ross
Noble House Concerts

13. Noble House Concerts
Van Nuys, CA 91411
Phone: 818-780-5979

Sun., January 14, 2018, 7:30pm: Ross Altman / Lisa Finnie
Sun., February 25, 2018, 7:30pm: Steve Gillette & Cindy Mangsen

   Also, classical performances the 4th Saturday of each month.
Kulak's Woodshed

14. Kulak's Woodshed
5230 1/2 Laurel Canyon Blvd.
North Hollywoodk, CA 91607
Phone: 818-766-9913

Shows nightly - see website
Seth & Tony's House Concerts

15. Seth & Tony's House Concerts
Eagle Rock, CA 90041

   Seasonal series: May through October; 6pm.
December 30, 2017: Louise Goffin
March 3, 2018: Cindy Alexander
Wine & Song Concert Series

16. Wine & Song Concert Series
Arroyo Seco Golf Clubhouse
1055 Lohman Lane
South Pasadena, CA 91030

   Wednesday nights at 7pm
Wed., February 7, 2018, 7pm: Gregory Page / Jean Mann
Wed., February 14, 2018, 7pm: Iain Matthews / Fred Tackett & Domenic Genova
Wed., February 21, 2018, 7pm: Aaron & Sarah
Wed., March 7, 2018, 7pm: Amelia White
Wed., March 14, 2018, 7pm: Caroline Cotter and Michael Howard
Wed., March 21, 2018, 7pm: Escaping Pavement
Wed., April 11, 2018, 7pm: Dan & Laurel
Wed., April 18, 2018, 7pm: Jude Johnstone
Full Moon Saturdays

17. Full Moon Saturdays
at Stonywood Backyard Concert Series
Pasadena, CA 91104

   Seasonal series: May through October

Sat., July 8, 2017: Ne'er Duwels
Sat., August 12, 2017: Abby Posner and the Myth
Sat., September 9, 2017: String Revolution
Sat., October 7, 2017: The Mighty Echoes

   Doors open at 4:00pm; music starts at 4:30pm.
   Suggested Donation: $20, kids free.
Coffee Gallery Backstage

18. Coffee Gallery Backstage
2029 N. Lake Avenue
Altadena, CA 91001
Phone: 626-798-6236

Shows nightly - see website
Naiditch House Concerts

19. Naiditch House Concerts
Altadena, CA 91001

Thurs., January 25, 2018: The Special Consensus (7:30pm)
Sun., February 4, 2018: Richard Smith *CANCELLED*
Fri., March 2, 2018, 7:30pm: Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen
Theta Sound Studio LIVE

21. Theta Sound Studio LIVE!
Burbank, CA 91506 (Events Section)


Sat., March 25, 2017, 7pm: Dale LaDuke / Bill Keis
Sat., April 22, 2017, 7pm: Bill Berry / Jane Bolduc
Sun., July 23, 2017, 6pm: Susan Kohler / Rupert Wates
   Info Link
Cellar Sessions Pasadena

22. Cellar Sessions
at Old Oak Cellars Winery

2620 "D" East Foothill Blvd.
Pasadena CA 91107
3pm wine tasting, 3:45pm concert.
Hosted by Brad Colerick

Sun., Jan 14, 2018, 3pm: JC & Laney / Eric Chase
Live at the A-Frame

24. Live at the A-Frame
Kagel Canyon, CA 91342
Phone: (818) 486-8505
(Doors open at 6pm; music at 7pm)

Sat., Jan. 13, 2018: John Stowers / Ed Tree
Sat., Feb. 10, 2018: Melissa Thatcher
Sat., March 3, 2018: Michael McNevin
Sat., April 14, 2018: Brooks Williams
Sat., May 19, 2018: Dale LaDuke
Sat., June 9, 2018: John Zipperer / Lisa Vig with Moss Reynolds
Brogden Bay Presents

Four Friends Gallery 25. Brogden Bay Presents
at Four Friends Gallery
1414 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd, Suite 111
Thousand Oaks, CA 91362

Sat., October 28, 2017, 8pm: Jerry Vivino Quartet
Sat., November 18, 2017, 8pm: Albert Lee
Sat., April 14, 2018, 8pm: Gurf Morlix
Tiny Porch Concerts

28. Tiny Porch Concerts
Free Concert Series at Peter Strauss Ranch
30000 Mulholland Hwy
Agoura Hills, CA 91301

   Summer Series: May - September

Fri., January 19, 2018: Kuinka, 6pm
   (at Cornell Winery in Agoura Hills)

Press Release
Pasadena Folk Music Society

29. Pasadena Folk Music Society
Beckman Institute Auditorium at Caltech (Little Beckman)
California Institute of Technology / Beckman Institute
400 S. Wilson Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91106

   8pm. $20. The Auditorium seats 200 people.
Sat., January 27, 2018, 8pm: Jim Malcolm
Sat., February 10, 2018, 7pm: Peter Yarrow
Fri., February 23, 2018, 8pm: Old Blind Dogs
Sat., March 3, 2018, 8pm: John Gorka
Sat., March 31, 2018, 8pm: The Kingston Trio
Sat., April 28, 2018, 8pm: Claude Bourbon
Sat., May 12, 2018, 8pm: Bryan Bowers with Geoff Goodhue

Saturday Evening Social Club

30. The Saturday Evening Social Club
An intimate outdoor house concert venue with a potluck dinner, hosted by Lauren Adams and her band
Reseda, CA 91335
RSVP to:

Sat., June 2, 2018, 5pm: AFT-Annika Frehling Trio (Sweden) / Amy Engelhardt / Lauren Adams Trio

Special Events:

City of Camarillo Public Library
4101 Las Posas Road Camarillo, California 93010
Sun, January 7, 2018, 2pm: Sean Gaskell - West African Kora
Sun., January 14, 2018, 2pm: Cherry Bomb - John Mellencamp Tribute
Sun., February 11, 2018, 2pm: HorsePlay (Country Western classics)

Bogies at the Westlake Village Inn
32001 Agoura Road, Westlake Village, CA
Thurs., February 1, 2018, 7pm & 8:45pm - The Denny Laine Band
Mon., January 29, 2018, 7pm: Thomas Fire Relief Concert Presented by The Tribe
Thurs., February 8, 2018, 7pm - David Garfield & The Cats
Sun., February 11, 2018, 6:30pm - Kiki Ebsen's Joni Mitchell Project
Thurs., February 15, 2018, 7pm - Teresa James and the Rhythm Tramps
Thurs., February 22, 2018, 7pm - Player

Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
2100 Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA
Sat., February 17, 2018: Riders in the Sky
Fri., February 23, 2018: Will Ackerman, The Gathering 4 Guitars
Sat., March 10, 2018: Karla Bonoff
Sun., March 11, 2018: Rufus Wainwright
Sat., March 17, 2018: John McEuen

Submit your special ACOUSTIC MUSIC events to: russ at to be included here.

Please submit the event no more than 90 days prior. All venues and events on this website MUST be within the geographical boundaries of the map at the top of the page -- along the Ventura Freeway Corridor -- to be included.
Local Open Mike Nights:

Sunday nights:
Left Coast Wine Bar in Glendale, CA (hosted by Bill McGarry)
The Coffee Gallery in Altadena, CA. 2nd Sunday, 11am-2pm Bluegrass Jam backstage
Oak View Community Center in Oak View, CA. 2nd & 4th Sundays, 1:30-4:30pm California State Old Time Fiddlers

Monday nights:
Kulak's Woodshed in North Hollywood, CA
Mental Mondays at House of Brews in San Fernando, CA (4th Mondays)
E.P. Foster Library in Ventura, CA. 2nd & 4th Mondays, 7-10pm Ukulele

Tuesday nights:
Golden China Restaurant in Ventura, CA (hosted by Robynn)
Rock and Roll Pizza @ The Rack in Woodland Hills, CA (hosted by Gary)

Wednesday nights:
The Crest Bar in La Crescenta, CA. (hosted by Dale La Duke) All acoustic 1st Wed. & singer-songwriter night 3rd Wed.
Guitar Merchant in Canoga Park, CA (hosted by East Coast Al)
Pho King Delicious in Northridge, CA (hosted by David)
Writer Wednesdays @ Bob's Espresso Bar in North Hollywood, CA (hosted by Jessica)
Camarillo Round Table Pizza Song Circle in Camarillo, CA (4th Wed. only)
The Golden China Restaurant in Ventura, CA. 2nd & 4th Wednesdays, 6pm-1:30am Ventura Bluegrass Jam. Info: Gene Rubin at
Instrumental Music Store in Thousand Oaks, CA. 3rd Wednesday, 7-10pm Ukulele Song Circle led by Pat Cronin
BeanScene Espresso Coffee House & Wine Bar in Oak Park, CA. Open Mic Night every other Wednesday night, 6-8pm.

Thursday nights:
Sandbox Coffeehouse in Ventura, CA. 6-8pm (hosted by Catfish Fry)
Keynote Lounge in Ventura, CA (hosted by Mark)
Soapbox Sessions @ Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in Encino, CA (hosted by Jason)
Free Speech Amsterdam @ Amsterdam Café in North Hollywood, CA (hosted by Joe & Todd)

Friday nights:
The Open Book Bookstore at The Oaks Mall in Thousand Oaks. Every third Friday of every month 7-9pm. Snacks & coffee.

For OPEN MIC nights in Ventura County, please visit:

For changes, corrections and additions,
please email: russ at